Nestling in the picturesque hills and valleys of South Lanarkshire Crawfordjohn is a small, rural village set amid rolling hills and valleys.
Crawfordjohn is a beautifully remote part of South Lanarkshire that has coined the phrase 'Out of the world and into Crawfordjohn'. The small village is home to an inn, the Colebrook Arms, a primary school and the Crawfordjohn Heritage Centre which has taken up residence in the old parish church. It is here that you can explore the the history and heritage of this rural town when it is open throughout the summer months.
This picturesque location is ideal for outdoor pursuits, and for keen cyclists the Crawford, Crawfordjohn and Leadhills cycle route offers a challenging ride.
The village is located close to Abington and Biggar as well as the M74 allowing travel connections going both North to Glasgow and beyond and South to and from England.
Brief History of Crawfordjohn
Small farming community first recorded around 1300. A rector was in residence in 1450 by the name of Robert de Glendonwyn. James, second Marquis of Hamilton in 1611, remained in the ducal house until 1693 when it was conveyed to the Marquis of Linlithgow (a younger son of the house), here again it remained until late in 1700’s, when it was sold along with the neighbouring barony of Crawford to Sir George Colebrooke, Bart. The Colebrooke family retaining ownership of the barony and lands until the early 1900’s where upon the estate was put up for sale and gradually disposed of.