The charming hamlet of Dalserf can be found along the picturesque Clyde Valley Tourist Route.
Dalserf is a small village on the river clyde with an unusual village Kirk built in 1655.
Brief History of Dalserf
The charming hamlet of Dalserf was one of the major villages of the area prior to the Industrial Revolution – in 1775 the population was 1100.
The interesting crucifix shape church was built in 1655, during the early days of Presbyterianism, on the site of an old chapel. Beside the church is a pre-Norman, hog-back carved tomb, found on the site in 1897.
The village had links with Covenanters, and behind the Church is a monument to the Rev John McMillan (d.1753). His religious stand led to Covenanters sometimes being referred to as ‘McMillanites’.