Biggar Gasworks Museum is an industrial time capsule, preserving the buildings and machinery that were used to make coal gas for the town and surrounding district for over 130 years.
The World's first public gas company, the Gas Light and Coke Company of London, was set up in 1812 to provide gas for both street lighting and private householders. It was a great success and the gas industry grew rapidly.
By 1839 even a town as small as Biggar had its own gasworks. Over the years, the works at Biggar were altered and expanded to keep up with the increasing demand. A major reconstruction in 1914 brought Biggar Gasworks into more or less its present form.
In 1973, when natural gas from the North Sea came to Biggar, the works closed down. However, unlike other gasworks it was not demolished. Cared for by Historic Environment Scotland, the museum survives as a vital record of our industrial past, saved for future generations.
Summer only, 1st April – 30 September, Saturday & Sunday and special Steam Days.
1 pm – 5 pm (last admission 30 minutes prior to closing), free admission (except on Steam Days).
Visitors can also see the coal fired boiler put to work and the steam driven machinery in action on special Steam Days. Please see our website for further information and current Steam Day dates.
Tel: 01899 221 070
Location: In Biggar. Located in Gas Works Road off A702 Edinburgh to Abington road Grid reference - 72 NT 038 376